Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects our recommendations. Read our editorial policy →
Micro Inverter Buying Guide UK: What's Inside Certified Plug-In Solar Kits
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
A microinverter is the core electrical component of a balcony solar system — the device that converts the DC electricity your solar panels generate into the 230V AC electricity your home uses. Since 27 August 2026 it is also the part most UK buyers no longer choose on its own: to plug a system into a socket yourself, you buy a certified kit listed on the ENA G98 Type Test Register, and the inverter comes inside it. This guide covers which inverters are in those kits, why a separately bought inverter can't use the socket route, and how the main brands compare if you are hard-wiring a system with an electrician.
Output above 3.68kW per phase changes the route. Our G98 / DNO checker applies the EREC thresholds for you.
Quick Facts - What it does: Converts DC electricity from solar panels to 230V AC for direct home use - Can you buy one and plug it in? No. Only a complete kit listed under the register's Plug-in Solar type can use the socket route. A listing belongs to the kit, not to the inverter inside it - What's inside certified kits: Hoymiles is named in 29 of the 83 compliant kits (HiFlow HF-800-WB, HMS-800-2WB, HMS-400/450-1T); VaySunic in 5; APsystems has 2 compliant kits of its own; 47 listings don't name the inverter (register checked 26 September 2026) - UK requirement: Anti-islanding protection and capacitor discharge protection under the Interim Product Specification - Standalone inverters (hard-wired installs only): Hoymiles (12-year warranty), APsystems (slightly higher efficiency, 10-year warranty), Enphase (premium, 25-year warranty) — £90–£150 for a dual-input 800W unit, ~£290 for an Enphase pair
What Does a Microinverter Actually Do?
Without an inverter, your solar panels are useless at home. They generate DC (direct current) electricity at variable voltage — typically 30–50V per panel — depending on sunlight intensity. Your home runs on 230V AC (alternating current) at 50Hz. Those are completely incompatible formats.
The microinverter converts the panels' DC output into grid-synchronised AC at exactly 230V, 50Hz. It does this in real time, matching the frequency and phase of your home's existing mains supply so that the electricity flows seamlessly into your circuit.
The "micro" part distinguishes it from a string inverter, the type used in large rooftop solar installations. A string inverter handles the output from many panels connected in series. A microinverter is dedicated to one or two panels and mounts directly to the panel frame or mounting rail.
For balcony solar, microinverters are preferred because: - A fault in one panel doesn't take down the whole system - They work better when panels are partially shaded (common on balconies with railings or overhangs) - They're physically small and easy to mount on a balcony rail - They're small, low-voltage units suited to one- or two-panel systems rather than professional rooftop arrays
Can You Buy a Microinverter Separately and Plug It In?
No. This is the biggest change the 27 August 2026 rules made to buying a microinverter.
The socket self-install route — plugging a system into a standard 13A socket and registering it at myplugin.solar in about two minutes — is only open to a complete kit listed compliant under the ENA register's Plug-in Solar device type. The listing covers the specific combination of panels, inverter, cable and mounting that was tested. It does not transfer to the inverter on its own.
The clearest proof is on the register itself. The Hoymiles HMS-800-2WB appears in five Plug-in Solar listings: four kits built on it are compliant (three from City Plumbing), and one — the Plugsol Light, two 200W panels on the same inverter — is non-compliant. Same inverter, different verdict, because compliance belongs to the kit.
Standalone Hoymiles inverters are on the register too, but as ordinary PV devices — the category used for installer-fitted systems. So if you buy an HMS-800-2T and two panels separately:
- It cannot be plugged into a socket, and it cannot be fitted with a European Schuko plug and an adaptor — adaptors and extension leads are not permitted
- It needs an electrician to hard-wire it (typically £150–£300)
- It needs a full G98 notification to your DNO, not the myplugin.solar registration
That electrician's fee is why a component build is no longer the cheap route. The cheapest certified two-panel kits now cost less all in, and use the same Hoymiles inverter family. Best Budget Balcony Solar Kits
Which Microinverters Are Inside UK Certified Kits?
The register's listings name the inverter for a little under half of compliant kits. As of 26 September 2026:
| Inverter | Compliant kits naming it | Sold by |
|---|---|---|
| Hoymiles HiFlow HF-800-WB | 11 | City Plumbing (10), PatioSun (1) |
| Hoymiles HiFlow (model not stated) | 5 | PatioSun |
| Hoymiles HMS-800-2WB | 9 | Worldwide Solar (5), City Plumbing (3), one other manufacturer |
| Hoymiles HMS-400-1T / HMS-450-1T (single panel) | 4 | Modular Solar |
| VaySunic VM800WE-P2 | 5 | Worldwide Solar |
| APsystems (own-brand kits) | 2 | APsystems — "Premium Set" Dual 1020W and Single 510W |
| Not stated in the listing | 47 | Perlight, UKSOL, Zendure, EcoFlow, TSUNESS and others |
Two things follow from this. First, Hoymiles is the inverter inside most of the certified kits that say what they use — so if you liked the idea of a Hoymiles DIY build, the certified version of it is a City Plumbing or PatioSun kit. Second, "not stated" does not mean "not Hoymiles": 47 listings simply don't name the inverter, so check the kit's own specification if it matters to you.
Every one of these kits uses an 800 VA inverter, whatever the panel wattage — a 1030W kit is still capped at 800W of AC output. Which Plug-In Solar Kits Are Certified?
The Two Critical Safety Features — Non-Negotiable for UK Use
Before discussing brands, specifications, or prices, two safety features must be present in any microinverter you connect to a UK property:
1. Anti-Islanding Protection
If the grid goes down — a power cut on your street — the microinverter must detect this and shut off within milliseconds. If it doesn't, your panels continue feeding live electricity into the network. Engineers working on what they believe are dead cables would be at serious risk.
Under UK wiring regulations (BS 7671) and the Interim Product Specification, anti-islanding protection is mandatory. It's also required under the European standards (EN 50549-1) that govern CE-marked products sold across the EU, so any reputable European-certified microinverter will have it built in.
How to verify it: Look for compliance with EN 50549-1 or VDE-AR-N 4105 in the product specification. Reputable brands list this explicitly. If a product's spec sheet doesn't mention it, treat that as a red flag.
2. Capacitor Discharge Protection
When you unplug the cable connecting your inverter to the wall socket, residual charge in the inverter's capacitors must drop below 34V within one second. Above 34V, the plug pins can deliver a dangerous shock when touched.
This is a specific requirement of the UK's Interim Product Specification, derived from German safety testing experience. It's the difference between safely unplugging a system (like any appliance) and having to wait for capacitors to discharge safely before touching the plug.
In a certified kit, this has been tested as part of the register listing. For a standalone inverter, check the specification sheet.
Plug-In Solar Panels UK: Complete Guide
Why IP Rating Matters More in the UK Than Anywhere Else
UK weather is the most important environmental factor when choosing a microinverter for a balcony installation.
IP (Ingress Protection) ratings indicate resistance to dust and water: - IP65: Protected against water jets from any direction. Adequate but not the strongest. - IP66: Protected against powerful water jets. Better for exposed positions. - IP67: Protected against immersion up to 1 metre for 30 minutes. The current gold standard for outdoor balcony use.
In drier European climates, IP65 is fine. In the UK, where horizontal rain, Atlantic storms, and persistent dampness are the norm, IP67 should be your minimum specification for a microinverter mounted on or near a balcony rail.
All three major brands covered in this guide — Hoymiles, APsystems, and Enphase — offer IP67 as standard on their balcony-focused products. Do not compromise on this for UK installations.
Understanding MPPT: One Input or Two?
MPPT stands for Maximum Power Point Tracking. It's the algorithm the inverter uses to extract maximum power from a panel despite changing light conditions (cloud, partial shade, changing sun angle).
For a two-panel balcony system, you have a choice:
Single MPPT, dual input: One MPPT algorithm controls both panels together. Fine if your panels always receive the same amount of light. If one panel is shaded (by a railing, a neighbouring balcony, or a building) while the other is in full sun, the shaded panel drags down the performance of both.
Dual MPPT: Each panel has its own independent tracking. Panel 1 performs at its optimum regardless of what panel 2 is doing. For UK balconies where partial shading is common — a railing shadow in the morning, an overhang in the afternoon — dual MPPT provides meaningfully better real-world output.
All three brands reviewed below offer dual MPPT on their 800W dual-input inverters. This is strongly recommended for UK balcony installations.
If You Are Hard-Wiring: Standalone Inverters Compared
The rest of this guide is for buyers installing through an electrician — a system over 800W, one hard-wired to a fused spur, or one built around panels no certified kit offers. For these, you choose the inverter yourself.
Hoymiles HMS-800-2T — The Budget Workhorse
The Hoymiles HMS-800-2T is the most widely used balcony solar microinverter in Europe, with millions of units installed in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and the Netherlands since 2022. It is the default choice for DIY builders across the continent, where the rules allow self-assembled systems; in the UK a standalone unit is for hard-wired installs.
Specifications: - AC output: 800W peak - Input channels: 2 (dual MPPT) - Max panel input per channel: 600W - Compatible panel wattage: 350–550W per panel - Peak efficiency: 96.7% - MPPT efficiency: 99.8% - IP rating: IP67 - Operating temperature: -40°C to +65°C - Communication: Built-in WiFi (no additional hub required) - Monitoring: S-Miles Cloud app (iOS and Android) - Dimensions: 212 × 175 × 30.5mm - Weight: 2.4kg - Warranty: 12 years
UK pricing: £90–£120 (Amazon UK, Bimble Solar, eBay from European suppliers)
What it does well: The 12-year warranty is the longest in its class and exceptional for a component at this price. S-Miles Cloud app provides real-time monitoring, per-panel breakdown, and historical data — a full feature set with no subscription fee. Dual MPPT handles partial shading well. The built-in WiFi (no external gateway required) keeps setup simple.
Hoymiles' scale is a genuine advantage: the community of UK users is growing rapidly, fault-finding resources are extensive, and replacement units are readily available if needed under warranty.
Where it falls short: Peak efficiency of 96.7% is slightly below APsystems' 97.3%. The difference is around 5–6W per 800W of output — negligible in real-world terms, but worth noting for completeness. As a standalone unit it is a PV device on the register, not a plug-in one, so it needs a hard-wired installation.
Best for: Hard-wired installs where warranty length and price matter most. If you want a Hoymiles inverter you can plug in yourself, buy a certified kit built on one.
APsystems DS3-S — Higher Efficiency, Strong Value
APsystems is a Sino-US company with strong European distribution and the second most common microinverter in the European balcony solar market. The DS3-S is their 800W-class dual-input model for 2-panel systems.
Specifications: - AC output: 640VA (DS3-S) / 748VA (DS3-L) / 880VA (DS3) - Input channels: 2 (dual MPPT) - Compatible panel wattage: Up to 400W+ (DS3-S), 480W+ (DS3-L), 550W+ (DS3) - Peak efficiency: 97.3% - IP rating: IP67 - Communication: Zigbee (encrypted) — requires ECU gateway for full monitoring - Monitoring: EMA app (free; gateway required) - Weight: 2.6kg - Warranty: 10 years (with ECU gateway connection)
UK pricing: £100–£130 for the DS3-S (Solar Trade Sales, Plug In Solar UK, various online wholesalers); ECU-R gateway ~£30 additional
Model selection note: APsystems offers three DS3 variants. For standard 400W panels (the most common UK option), the DS3-S (640VA output) is correctly matched. If you're using higher-wattage 450W+ panels, choose the DS3-L (748VA). The DS3 (880VA) is for very large panels and overkill for typical balcony systems.
What it does well: 97.3% peak efficiency slightly outperforms Hoymiles. The silicone-encapsulated design improves thermal dissipation and long-term durability in variable UK weather. APsystems has good UK distribution through established solar wholesalers, which makes warranty claims more straightforward than sourcing from European Amazon sellers.
Where it falls short: Full monitoring requires the ECU-R gateway (~£30) — this is an additional purchase and an additional device to manage. Without it, you get limited data. The 10-year warranty is good but shorter than Hoymiles' 12 years. The Zigbee communication (versus Hoymiles' WiFi) is generally reliable but occasionally requires troubleshooting when gateways update firmware.
Best for: Hard-wired installs where slightly higher efficiency and good UK distribution matter, and the gateway cost doesn't. APsystems also sells two certified plug-in kits of its own (the "Premium Set" range), which are the socket-route way to use its inverters.
Enphase IQ8AC — The Premium Option
Enphase is the global market leader in microinverters for residential solar and holds a dominant position in professional rooftop installations. Their IQ8AC is the model most relevant to UK balcony solar.
Specifications: - AC output: 300W (single panel — one unit per panel) - Peak efficiency: 97.5% - IP rating: IP67 - Communication: Powerline (no separate hub required) - Monitoring: Enlighten app (best-in-class data; free tier available) - Warranty: 25 years
UK pricing: ~£145 per unit; for a 2-panel 800W system you need two units (total: ~£290 for inverters alone)
What it does well: The 25-year warranty is extraordinary and unmatched — it effectively means the inverter is guaranteed for the life of the system. Enphase's monitoring platform is the most sophisticated available, with per-panel granularity, AI-assisted fault detection, and integration with smart home systems. The IQ8 is also designed for potential future "grid-forming" capability (generating power during grid outages with appropriate battery storage).
Where it falls short: At £290 for the inverter pair alone (before panels or hardware), Enphase is expensive. The 97.5% efficiency is only marginally better than APsystems' 97.3% — not worth the cost premium on efficiency grounds alone. For a simple balcony solar installation where the 25-year warranty and professional-grade monitoring are not priorities, Enphase is overspecified.
Best for: Buyers who want absolute peace of mind over a very long system life, are already invested in the Enphase ecosystem, or are installing as part of a broader home solar project.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Feature | Hoymiles HMS-800-2T | APsystems DS3-S | Enphase IQ8AC (×2) |
|---|---|---|---|
| AC output | 800W | 640VA | ~600W (2 × 300W) |
| Input channels (MPPT) | 2 | 2 | 1 each |
| Peak efficiency | 96.7% | 97.3% | 97.5% |
| IP rating | IP67 | IP67 | IP67 |
| Communication | Built-in WiFi | Zigbee (ECU required) | Powerline |
| Additional hub cost | None | ~£30 (ECU-R) | None |
| Inverter warranty | 12 years | 10 years | 25 years |
| UK price (for 800W) | ~£100–£120 | ~£130–£160 (incl. gateway) | ~£290 |
| Best for | Budget hard-wired installs | Efficiency-focused | Long-term/premium |
Wattage Matching: Getting the Panel-to-Inverter Ratio Right
In a certified kit the manufacturer has already matched the panels to the inverter. If you are building a hard-wired system, one common mistake is choosing an inverter that's mismatched to your panels.
The rule: Your panels' combined peak DC output should typically be 105–130% of the inverter's rated AC output — two-panel certified UK kits pair 800W inverters with roughly 890–1030W of panels. This is called the DC/AC ratio or inverter loading ratio.
Why slightly overpanel? Panels rarely reach their rated output simultaneously in UK conditions. A minor overload at peak sun — if it ever occurs — is handled safely by the inverter's internal limiting. But an undersized inverter with too-small panels wastes inverter capacity.
For an 800W AC microinverter: - Ideal panel combination: 2 × 400W to 2 × 450W panels (800–900W DC) - Acceptable: 2 × 350W (700W DC) — very slightly underpowered but functional - Avoid: any panel above the inverter's per-channel input limit (600W on the HMS-800-2T)
Check the inverter datasheet for the maximum DC input per channel. The Hoymiles HMS-800-2T accepts up to 600W per channel, so 2 × 500W panels (1,000W DC) are within spec; 2 × 600W panels (1,200W DC) are not.
G98 Notification and Inverter Documentation
If your system needs a full G98 notification — because it is hard-wired, over 800W, self-assembled from components, or the kit is not listed compliant on the ENA register — your Distribution Network Operator will want technical documentation for your inverter, specifically: - Model name and manufacturer - Rated AC output - Confirmation of G98/G100 compliance (or European equivalent EN 50549-1 for current grey-market systems)
Reputable brands (Hoymiles, APsystems, Enphase) all provide downloadable datasheets and declaration of conformity documents from their websites. Keep a copy when you buy. If your kit is listed compliant and socket-connected, you need none of this — registering at myplugin.solar takes about two minutes and asks only for your address and device. DNO G98 Notification Guide
FAQs
Q: Can I buy a Hoymiles inverter on Amazon and plug my panels into a socket? A: No. Only a complete kit listed under the ENA register's Plug-in Solar type can use the socket route; a standalone inverter is a PV device and needs an electrician to hard-wire it, plus a full G98 notification. If you want a Hoymiles inverter you can plug in yourself, buy a certified kit built on one — City Plumbing's and PatioSun's kits use the Hoymiles HiFlow.
Q: Do I need a microinverter or can I use a string inverter? A: For a 1–2 panel balcony system, a microinverter (or dual-input microinverter) is the correct choice. String inverters are designed for larger multi-panel arrays. A string inverter for 2 panels would be physically larger, more expensive, and less efficient at low output than a purpose-built microinverter.
Q: Can I use a European inverter (CE-marked) in the UK? A: The UK specification is now published. From 27 August 2026, a device using the socket route must be solar-only, meet the Interim Product Specification (max 800 VA, 3.5 A), carry a declaration of compliance and be listed on the ENA G98 Type Test Register. CE-marked and VDE-certified European inverters do not automatically qualify — and the listing that matters is for the complete kit, not the inverter inside it.
Q: What's the difference between HMS-800-2T and HMS-800W-2T? A: These refer to the same Hoymiles unit; the "W" simply indicates the built-in WiFi version. The HMS-800-2T and HMS-800W-2T are functionally identical; make sure any listing you buy from includes the integrated WiFi chip, as some older European listings sell the non-WiFi version that requires an external DTU data unit.
Q: How do I know if my microinverter is working correctly? A: All three recommended brands include monitoring apps that show real-time output. As a rough check: a south-facing 800W system in clear conditions around midday should be producing 500–750W on a typical UK day. If the app shows significantly less — or zero — in sunshine, that indicates a fault.
Q: What happens to my microinverter in a power cut? A: It shuts off automatically within milliseconds due to the anti-islanding protection. This is not a fault — it is the system working correctly to protect grid workers. Your panels will not power your home during a grid outage unless you have a battery system with off-grid capability (like the Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2).
Q: Does the inverter warranty cover the whole system or just the inverter? A: The inverter warranty covers the inverter only. Solar panels have a separate manufacturer's warranty — typically 25 years for product defects and a 25-year performance guarantee (usually 80–84% of rated output retained after 25 years). Buy from a brand where you can identify both warranties clearly before purchasing.
Q: Is a 96.7% efficient inverter meaningfully worse than a 97.5% one? A: In absolute terms: an 800W system with a 96.7% efficient inverter generates approximately 6W less than an identical system with a 97.5% efficient inverter at peak output. Over a full year, this translates to roughly 4–6 kWh of additional generation from the more efficient unit — worth about £1–£1.50 at current rates. Not a reason on its own to choose a more expensive inverter.